Free software


Deutsche Fassung

This part of my site is dedicated to Free Software I write in my spare time. If you're looking for anything to do with my work as a software developer, either visit the web site of gocept where I used to work until 2016, or contact me by e-mail. You will also find in this place some talks and presentations I have given in the past.

Own projects

All of my software described below (with the exception of genmpage) is implemented in Python and can be found at the Python package index.

If you find one of these projects useful and wish to contribute to or support its development, you can do so in a number of ways.

Participation in larger Open Source projects

Zope

Zope is an application server written in Python. I came to know Python and Zope through my work at gocept. Since 2004, I've been using Python and parts of Zope in my own software and since 2005, I've been a developer of Zope myself.

LaTeX

LaTeX is a document preparation system based on D.E. Knuth's TeX typesetting engine. I've been using LaTeX since the early 1990s and have become involved with the project at the 2003 EuroTeX conference. Having started by maintaining the project web site, I've by now become a team member.

Project details

tl.rename

A Python implementation of the rename program found on most Unix and Linux systems that allows for more transformation than the usual substring or regular expression replacement, including interactive renaming.

tl.geodrawing

A Python package providing a pycairo drawing surface that has geo-coordinates and a map background. It also contains a PyGTK widget making use of the drawing surface, as well as a small demo application. Map tiles are downloaded from OpenStreetMap.

tl.gcrop

A program for cropping images. On the one hand, it allows determining crop parameters as pixel values or using the pointer while getting visual feedback through the GUI, on the other hand it shall be possible in future versions to apply mathematical constraints to ensure, for example, minimal margin widths or a given aspect ratio of the crop area.

tl.cli

A Python package of tools for command line programs: multiple readline histories, helper functions for using tab completion, a command loop with some added conveniences based on Python's cmd.Cmd, and functions that control external programs to let the user edit and page through a piece of text.

tl.testing

A Python package of tools for testing Python code: functions to create and list sandboxes of directories, files and symbolic links; a function to install mock scripts in the file system; a test suite that allows testing the graphical content of cairo image surfaces against given image files from within doc tests; a test case that collects test errors and failures from threads and some more helpers for handling threads when testing.

tl.pkg

This package contains a paste.script template that creates a skeleton of files and directories for a new Python package which applies some current best practices for Python-code layout, packaging and a development environment. The package comes with a zc.buildout configuration that installs a test runner and a documentation builder wrapping Sphinx. Some documentation boilerplate and a custom Sphinx theme are provided as well.

PDF4Python

A Python interface to the PDF data and document model. The pdfspec package implements the data structures described in the specification, and reads and writes PDF files. A second packages is planned to provide functions for manipulating PDF documents. However, the project has no ambition to create or process a document's content, such as formatting text, producing PDF reports from abstract content or rendering documents to the screen.

genmpage

A LaTeX package to provide minipages with a more flexible design and positioning, notably the possibility to align minipages with respect to their geometric top and bottom instead of the base lines of the first or last line of text.

tl.googlepagerank

A Python package and a command line tool that queries Google page ranks for individual web page, similar to what the Google toolbar does.


2016/06/06

Freie Software


English version

Dieser Teil meiner Site ist Freier Software gewidmet, die ich in meiner Freizeit entwickle. Alles, was mit meiner Arbeit als Software-Entwickler zu tun hat, findet sich dagegen auf der Website der Firma gocept. Weiterhin gibt es hier Material zu einigen Vorträgen und Präsentationen, die ich gehalten habe.

Eigene Projekte

Alle meine hier vorgestellte Software (außer genmpage) ist in Python implementiert und im Python package index zu finden.

Wer eines dieser Projekte nützlich findet und seine Entwicklung unterstützen möchte, kann das auf unterschiedliche Weise tun.

Mitarbeit in größeren Open-Source-Projekten

Zope

Zope ist ein Application-Server, der in Python geschrieben wurde. Ich habe Python und Zope durch meine Arbeit bei gocept kennengelernt. Seit 2004 verwende ich Python und Teile von Zope in meiner eigenen Software, und seit 2005 entwickle ich selbst an Zope mit.

LaTeX

LaTeX ist ein Dokumentenerstellungssystem, das auf D.E. Knuths Textsatz-Programm TeX aufbaut. Ich habe LaTeX seit den frühen 1990er Jahren verwendet und bin auf der EuroTeX-Konferenz 2003 mit dem Team in Kontakt gekommen. Zunächst übernahm ich die Pflege der Website des Projekts, mittlerweile bin ich Mitglied im Entwicklerteam.

Projektbeschreibungen

tl.rename

Eine Python-Implementierung des auf Unix- und Linux-Systemen üblichen Programms rename, die mehr Transformationen als die Ersetzung von Teilstrings oder anhand regulärer Ausdrücke beherrscht - beispielsweise interaktives Umbenennen.

tl.geodrawing

Ein Python-Paket, das eine pycairo-Zeichenfläche mit Geokoordinaten und einer Weltkarte als Hintergrund zur Verfügung stellt. Weiterhin enthält es ein PyGTK-Widget, das diese Zeichenfläche benutzt, und ein kleines Demo-Programm. Die Karte wird als Kacheln von OpenStreetMap heruntergeladen.

tl.gcrop

Ein Programm, um Bilder zu beschneiden. Dabei kann man einerseits die Beschnittparameter als Pixelwerte oder mit Hilfe der Maus bestimmen und sieht in der grafischen Oberfläche sofort, was man tut, andererseits soll es in zukünftigen Versionen zugleich möglich sein, mathematische Bedingungen anzugeben, um etwa Mindestwerte für die Ränder oder ein bestimmtes Seitenverhältnis für den Ausschnitt einzuhalten.

tl.cli

Ein Python-Paket von Werkzeugen für Kommandozeilen-Programme: mehrere readline-Historien, Hilfsfunktionen für Tabulator-Vervollständigung, eine Befehlsschleife, die Pythons cmd.Cmd vor allem für Entwickler bequemer macht, und Funktionen, die den Benutzer mit Hilfe externer Programme Textstrings bearbeiten und durchblättern lassen.

tl.testing

Ein Python-Paket von Werkzeugen zum Testen von Python-Code: Funktionen, die temporäre Verzeichnisstrukturen mit Unterverzeichnissen, Dateien und Verknüpfungen erzeugen und anzeigen; eine Funktion, die Mock-Skripte ins Dateisystem installiert; eine Testsuite, die innerhalb von Doc-Tests den grafischen Inhalt von cairo-Zeichenflächen anhand von Vergleichsbildern testen kann; einen Testcase, der Testfehler in Threads aufsammelt und sonstige Hilfestellung beim Umgang mit Threads in Tests gibt.

tl.pkg

Dieses Paket enthält eine Vorlage für paste.script, die ein Grundgerüst an Dateien und Verzeichnissen für ein neues Python-Paket erzeugt, welches sich an aktuellen Standards für Python-Code, Paketierung und Entwicklungsumgebung orientiert. Das Paket bringt eine zc.buildout-Konfiguration mit, die eine Testumgebung und einen Helfer zum Bauen der Sphinx-Dokumentation installiert. Für die Dokumentation kommen ein Grundgerüst und ein eigenes Sphinx-Thema mit.

PDF4Python

Eine Python-Schnittstelle zum Daten- und Dokumentenmodell von PDF. Das Paket pdfspec implementiert die in der Spezifikation beschriebenen Datenstrukturen und liest und schreibt PDF-Dateien. Ein weiteres Paket soll Funktionen enthalten, um PDF-Dokumente zu manipulieren. Es ist jedoch nicht der Anspruch des Projekts, den Inhalt eines Dokuments zu erstellen oder zu verarbeiten, also etwa Text zu formatieren, Berichte aus abstrakten Inhalten zu erstellen oder Dokumente am Bildschirm darzustellen.

genmpage

Ein LaTeX-Paket für Minipages, die flexibler gestaltet und positioniert werden können. Insbesondere ist eine Ausrichtung an der geometrischen Ober- und Unterkante anstelle der Grundlinie der ersten oder letzten Textzeile möglich.

tl.googlepagerank

Ein Python-Paket und ein Kommandozeilenwerkzeug, das ähnlich der Google-Toolbar die Bewertungen (Page ranks) einzelner Webseiten von Google erfragen kann.


10.10.2013